24

Today marks the 24th day of the trip and so far it’s been an adventure in every sense. I have pretty much mastered getting myself around both on the streets and underground on the metro. The weather has been off an on, however when it’s on, it’s really on. For example, it’s February 6th and currently 61 degrees and sunny. I picked the right place! Yesterday I met with a local university student who is trying to learn English because she is a Tourism major. She showed me Parque Montjuïc which is right by my apartment. This park is huge. It was the stage for the 1992 Olympics here and also has a castle built in 1640 at the top that overlooks the entire city and all the way out to the Mediterranean. We talked about a lot of stuff and did our best to understand each other’s attempt at the language. I think this is going to help a lot with learning the language, it’s more practice than in the classroom and it’s good to actually meet someone from Barcelona since none of our classes actually have Spaniards in them.

In 10 days it’s my birthday and I’ll be turning 21 in Barcelona. HA I would consider that a rare event. I don’t have major plans at the moment, probably find a nice restaurant and enjoy a good dinner. It’s weird to not celebrate a birthday with your friends and family, but instead with people you just met 4 weeks ago. Oh well, I’ll make the best of it and enjoy what I can.

I have been trying to organize a trip with some other friends here to places around Spain. We’ve been looking at the south of France, Germany, Switzerland and Italy. As with any plan, there needs to be organization and PLANNING! I am of course the person who leads that by default. I don’t have a problem with that at all, in fact I like planning things and being that person to organize an event. So I’m currently working on that project on top of some school things that I have going on. There aren’t any definite plans yet, but they should be coming soon.

Current song:

Twenty four voices
With twenty four hearts
With all of my symphonies
In twenty four parts.
I’m not copping out. Not copping out. Not copping out.

Leave a Reply

